A.F.C.I. or G.F.C.I.

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-04-11, 04:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5
A.F.C.I. or G.F.C.I.

I am adding a room to the basement and it is on a new run. Do I need to install an A.F.C.I. or a G.F.C.I???
We wired the room with 12/3 wire, there are five receptacles on the circuit.
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-04-11, 06:26 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
If it's an unfinished basement room with a concrete floor it needs a GFCI. If it's a finished room it probably needs a AFCI depending on what version of NEC you fall under. 2008 or later rquires a AFCI for a finished room. Why did you use 12-3 romex, 12-2 would have been sufficient.
 
  #3  
Old 04-05-11, 03:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5
My mistake, I did use 12/2. It is a completely finished room.
 
  #4  
Old 04-05-11, 03:42 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
20A Combination afci.
 
  #5  
Old 04-05-11, 06:26 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,059
AFCIs are the current code requirement for finished rooms, but depending on your locality, they may or may not be required. You can always use them if you want, but in my opinion, I'd probably only use them if required.

A call to your local building department to ask them what National Electric Code cycle (NEC) you're under. As Joe said, if it's 2008 or later, you're stuck having to use AFCI. If it's 2005 (like around here), it's your choice.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'