Electrical Box is flush with the stud

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-10-11, 07:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Electrical Box is flush with the stud

I have an electrical box in the basement but its mounted flush with the stud. Should the box be move so its flush with the drywall or can a bigger hole be cut in the drywall and longer screws used to attach the outlet to the electrical box?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-10-11, 07:33 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,987
If you can easily move the box so it will be flush with the drywall, I would do it. Otherwise, you can use a box extender and longer screws to mount the device. Code requires boxes to be no more than 1/8" set back from the face of the drywall and the box extender satisfies this requirement.
 
  #3  
Old 04-10-11, 07:33 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,671
Mudring.. See Tolyn's answer. We posted at the same time. His gives more detail.
 
  #4  
Old 04-11-11, 04:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Thanks alot. This worked great.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'