MC cable cutter

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-13-11, 06:45 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,445
MC cable cutter

I need to cut 3/8" MC cable conduits (without the wires in them).

I bought a cutting tool from HD, I thought it would cut the conduit across, but it turns out it cuts the conduit "longitudinally".

Am I missing something? Why would it cut it lengthwise? Or did I get the wrong tool?

Since I am going to feed my own wires, may be it's better I cut it with an angle grinder?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-13-11, 07:14 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
For flex, I use a sawzall. MC cable, I use diaganal cutters.
 
  #3  
Old 04-13-11, 07:21 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
MC cable has wires installed in it at the factory. What you probably bought is for MC cable like this

Amazon.com: Seatek RF170 1-1/2" roto split: Home Improvement

It sounds as if you are just cutting flexible metal conduit. I think you'll find you can bend it, snapping the spiral, and then snip it with diagonal cutters.
 
  #4  
Old 04-13-11, 09:04 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,629
You can also cut it part way with a hacksaw then snap it.

 
  #5  
Old 04-14-11, 06:18 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,976
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
You can also cut it part way with a hacksaw then snap it.

This is the method we use for all spiral wrapped cable/conduit. (AC/MC/Flexible conduit)
 
  #6  
Old 04-14-11, 09:10 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,288
Originally Posted by MiamiCuse View Post
Am I missing something? Why would it cut it lengthwise?
You cut through one rib of the spiral then you can pull it apart into two pieces with an "unscrew" motion.
 
  #7  
Old 04-14-11, 04:54 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Those old wiring books seem to be more informing than new ones.
 
  #8  
Old 04-14-11, 05:00 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,629
Originally Posted by Justin Smith View Post
Those old wiring books seem to be more informing than new ones.
Not always. One I have warns it is best to use a fuse box because breakers are not approved for use in many municipalities. Perhaps the best wiring book is the one Sears use to sell.
 
  #9  
Old 04-14-11, 06:05 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Not always. One I have warns it is best to use a fuse box because breakers are not approved for use in many municipalities. Perhaps the best wiring book is the one Sears use to sell.
There are still alot of long lost tricks in them. I do like fuses personally, but that is for another time.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'