Is a ground necesary?

Old 04-14-11, 07:55 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is a ground necesary?

I am currently renting a house in Ecuador. For those who don't know, that means that many things are done in a way that can be called "creative."

The house is receiving 120V from the street. There is a ground wire at the meter. Within the house itself there are no ground wires (between plugs/lights and the breaker box). It would be impossible (well, remarkably difficult) to install grounds between the plugs and the breaker box because the house is made of concrete...

My question is this, is there any reason to ground the breaker box, considering that I am grounded at the meter, and the internals in the house aren't running ground wires? It is possible for me to get a wire from the neutral bar in the box, outside and into the ground, but is it worth the trouble?

I'm not too experienced with this sort of thing, but logic tells me that grounding the box would really only help in the case of a fault between the box and the meter. Not a complete waste, but only a small piece of the puzzle. Thoughts?

Sponsored Links
Old 04-14-11, 08:18 AM
I worked in Thailand for a few years and saw the same craziness only there it was running 220V. I got zapped from a microwave before I found out it wasn't grounded as they had used 3 prong recepticles with no ground. Creative is right. I pulled out a can light in the ceiling and saw connection after connection above the dropped ceiling twisted together with black tape. How do the wires run through the concrete. If they used conduit it should be possible to pull through a ground wire, and connect them to the panel. How is the meter grounded? If by a steel bar is it well driven into the ground? We all accept some increased risks when living in developing countries but this is one that really needs to be addressed for your safety. Nobody on this forum could say otherwise I am sure.

Old 04-14-11, 08:27 AM
Hey Equinox-