20 amp, 240v sub panel for garage?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-15-11, 01:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
20 amp, 240v sub panel for garage?

Hi,

I have a 20 amp 240 volt feed from my main panel to my garage. The circuit is protected at the main panel with a 20 amp, 240v double breaker. The wire going to the garage is 12-3 with ground. If I connect this feed in my garage to a sub panel in my garage that accepts multiple breakers can I add more than 2?

What I want to have in the garage is a sub panel with one 15amp 240v breaker dedicated for an a/c unit (max draw 1100 watts at 240v), one 15amp 120v breaker for lights, and one 20amp 120v breaker for outlets.

My max load is expected to be 1100 watts for a/c + 600 watts for lights + 900 watts for outlets.

If a double 240v 20amp breaker can support 3840 watts I would think this would work?

Any thoughts from someone with knowledge appreciated
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-15-11, 01:16 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
The subpanel is unnessecary when you have a 20A multiwire circuit. Just put the AC on one leg of the MWC and the general-purpose loads on the other leg of the MWC.
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-11, 01:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
But the a/c needs 240 volts, so it would need both legs, so thats why I am thinking I need the subpanel so I can have 240 and 120 breakers available in the garage. Just not sure if its ok to add 2 more 120 volt breakers, one on each leg?
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-11, 01:28 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Oh I see. It would be okay to put a 6-20R (240V, 20A) receptacle on the 20A multi-wire circuit to power the air conditioner. You just use the two hots and the ground (black, red, bare) and not the white. Note this should be before your GFCI receptacles.

You could do the subpanel if you want to, but it is an unnecessary cost.
 
  #5  
Old 04-15-11, 01:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think the mini split a/c unit I plan to put in needs the neutral and the ground being it will be hard wired. I don't mind putting in the little sub panel in the garage, just was not sure if it would be acceptable to add the 3 separate breakers in it? Sounds like it is as long as I keep the neutrals and the grounds separated and add ground rods?
 
  #6  
Old 04-15-11, 02:07 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Yes that sounds fine to me.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: