Moving wall outlet to floor outlet?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-24-11, 05:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Moving wall outlet to floor outlet?

I have a Florida room added to the back of my 1970's precast concrete modular home.
I have removed the window and want to cut the opening to the floor as an open walk thru to the Florida room.
There is an electrical wall outlet existing under the window that I want to eliminate which is fed from the floor in the wall to the outlet an out of the outlet in the wall to the floor that feeds outlets on other precast walls(outlet in middle of run).
Is there a safe and correct way to eliminate the outlet and bury the connection under the slab?
Could I turn it to a floor outlet? If so is there something special I need to know before attempting this?
Thanks for you help!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-24-11, 05:30 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,913
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
Once the walk-thru is cut there would need to be a receptacle witin 6' of each side of the opening.

Are you dealing with conduit or a flexible cable as a wiring method?
 
  #3  
Old 04-24-11, 06:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for quick response.
There is an additional wall outlet within 6 feet of each side of the proposed walk thru.
The precast wall, hard conduit coming down, floor level hard conduit coming up with a hard coupling about 3 inches above the slab in a wall cutout.
I don't know how far the hard conduit goes below the slab.
 
  #4  
Old 04-24-11, 06:59 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,913
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
You would need to cut into the conduit and run a new conduit to the new location as well as continuing the conduit to the downstream receptacle.

Your chase in the concrete could be just enough to allow the conduit to the flush under the surface.
 
  #5  
Old 04-24-11, 07:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks,
After I bust or cut the slab to access the old conduit and route to the new floor location, will the old conduit stop under the slab so I can pull and preserve the old wire before rerouting to the new floor location?
Is the conduit only used to protect the wire from the concrete?
Do I have to make the floor junction an outlet?
Can I flush mount a cap on slight recessed junction box and cover with vinyl plank flooring or does it have to be exposed?
Is there a special box to use before the small concrete re-pour?
Thanks for your input and patience.
 
  #6  
Old 04-24-11, 07:42 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,913
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
Conduit is a complete raceway between boxes. It should not just stop under the concrete.

You can pull the old conductors out of the conduit before cutting it.

Use a floor box with adjustable depth so it will be flush with the finished floor. You cannot bury a junction box. It must remain permanently accessible.

Here is one floor box. [SIZE=2][SIZE=2]
[/SIZE]
[/SIZE]
[SIZE=2][SIZE=2]

[/SIZE]
[/SIZE]
 
  #7  
Old 04-24-11, 08:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your time and consideration.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: