Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Wiring a gfci off the same power that is powering the exhaust fan

Wiring a gfci off the same power that is powering the exhaust fan

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-01-11, 08:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Wiring a gfci off the same power that is powering the exhaust fan

I'm remodeling my bathroom and i was wondering if I can wire a switch that will control the exhaust fan, that i also want to wire a gfci above the sink the switch wont control the gfci but i want to run the fan and outlet off the same power. much appreciated for any help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-01-11, 08:55 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
Are you planning to bring the power into the GFI or switch first?
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-11, 09:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 6
i was planning on bringing the feed in to a double gang box then splitting it to both the fan and gfci.
 
  #4  
Old 05-02-11, 04:55 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
Ok, off the power cable you will splice 2 short lengths of black to the black. This will power the switch and the other goes to the LINE brass screw of the GFI. Make a similar splice with 1 white and the white from the cable going out to the fixture. The white goes to the silver LINE of the GFI. The black going to the fixture goes to the other screw of the switch. Pigtail 2 bare or green to the incoming and outgoing grounds, one for the switch and one for the GFI. If the box is metallic you also need one for the box.
 
  #5  
Old 05-02-11, 09:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 6
thanks pcboss for the help
 
  #6  
Old 05-02-11, 05:18 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
You do not need to make pigtails, the gfi has 2 holes for line in.
 
  #7  
Old 05-05-11, 04:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
You can only do this if the branch circuit supplies this bathroom only and is a 20 amp circuit.

The code requires bathrooms to be on a 20 amp circuit and contain no other outlets unless it supplies a single bathroom.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'