Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Junction Box with backpanel knockout to fit over an electrical outlet

Junction Box with backpanel knockout to fit over an electrical outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-03-11, 10:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Junction Box with backpanel knockout to fit over an electrical outlet

I want to install some IP cameras in the house.

To house the power adaptor and powerline adaptor I'd like to use a 1 gang junction box. The problem is I can't find one on the market that has cutouts/knockouts on the back panel to install directly over a standard dual receptacle power outlet. Even better, if it the junction box had predrilled holes for the 2 screws that would have held the faceplate on - that way I don't have to drill extra holes in the dry wall to surface mount the junction box.

Do I just cut the junction box myself and drill the holes? If so, what can I cut it with?

I also looked a a power outlet exension box...looked like it might work.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-04-11, 03:40 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! Just ask for a box extender. Google is your friend receptacle box extender - Google Search
Is any of these what you are referring to? They have the attachment points built in.
 
  #3  
Old 05-04-11, 06:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,338
How about something like this ... Product Results - E9UDVCRN2

I have a number of similar ones outside. They have locking tabs, and you can prime and paint the clear plastic cover if you wish. They may also have opaque covers available.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'