running wire to the second floor

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-08-11, 04:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: united states
Posts: 21
running wire to the second floor

i have a older home. it has ballon framing. when i go to the second floor. can i remove the base borad and go around the room that way? the base borad is a 1 by 6 .
is there any thing about the height of the run around the to outlets and switches. i know they should be certain height.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-08-11, 04:48 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
Yes, you can. It's common in older homes to see Wiremold surface raceways and boxes mounted on the baseboards.
 
  #3  
Old 05-08-11, 05:58 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
If the wire is less than 1.25'' from the edge of the stud you need a 1/16'' steel plate to block a nail or such. Also, watch you do not hit a firebreak as those can be a pita to get around and you will have to either get a snake bit or cut a hole in the wall to drill through it and then fill around the wire with fire caulk.
 
  #4  
Old 05-08-11, 08:47 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,981
Originally Posted by raiders.01 View Post
is there any thing about the height of the run around the to outlets and switches. i know they should be certain height.
The only height requirement is they must be less that 6' off the floor. (yes, that is 6 feet. as in 72")
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'