reistance electric baseboard type heaters drom 30 yrs ago

Old 05-23-11, 09:02 PM
reistance electric baseboard type heaters drom 30 yrs ago

I have a shore house- bought 30 yrs ago- raised roof to add BDRM space and added electric heat to whole house which had been used bu previous owner only in summer- used a nice guy who got his education in electric in navy- After the electric heat was installed- the heat was weak- neighbor did same thing- same type baseboards -his heat was heat- spoke to electrician- he said neighbor probably had 220 mine were 110- I cked box my was 220 - told him -he said no problem he would use 20 amp double pole breakers- -everything was fine -we use place in colder times very infrequently- The nice man has passed away- I have been replacing wall thermostats for last 3 yrs as covers became misplaced- wired replacements as the old wall thermostats were wired- until last one last year- couldn't get old style wall thermostat where the 12-2 wires were fastened under screws- new one has 2 sides -line and load- and 2 wires on each side line is black and load is red (grds are pigtailed together) MY PROBLEM IS THERE ARE 3 SETS OF 12-2 WIRES IN THE WALL BOX AND ALL 3 ARE HOT- 2 of the 3 set of wires are controlled by the same 20 amp double pole breaker and the 3rd is controlled by another double pole breaker- I HAVE TIED THE 2 SETS ON THE ONE BREAKER TO ONE SET OF THERMOSTAT WIRES AND THE 3RD SET TO THE 2ND SET OF THERMOSTAT WIRES- TO SEE IF I CAN USE THE THERMOSTAT AS A SWITCH- THE BREAKERS IN BOX DON'T GET HOT OR TRIP- THE HEAT IN BASEBOARDS IS MINIMAL- I TOOK THE THERMOSTAT APART LAST YEAR AND WIRED THE NEW THERMOSTAT AS I SURMISED IT WOULD BE WIRED USING THE OLD THERMOSTAT WITH TERMINALS AS A GUIDE- - I GOT IMMEDIATE HEAT AND HOT- BUT COULDN'T SHUT IT OFF WHEN THE DIAL WAS LOWERED TO 50 DEGREES- - DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY HELP

Sponsored Links
Old 05-23-11, 10:16 PM
Group Moderator
Sorry but I am having troubel following your post but in general: