zinsco panel help

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-25-11, 10:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
zinsco panel help

Hello, i have a zinsco panel that has no main breaker and a 50amp breaker on top half of panel feeding 2 lugs at the bottom of panel. Is this a split bus panel and how does this panel work. Any information on this subject is greatly appreciated
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-25-11, 10:37 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
It sounds like it might be a split buss but a pic could confirm. You could also look at the wiring diagram that should be on a sticker in the panel.

A split buss panel allowed typically 6 double pole breakers for the larger loads like dryers, stoves etc. These breakers together were acting as a main breaker under the 6 throws of the hand rule. There was one that fed the lower buss where your loads like lighting and receptacles were fed.
 

Last edited by pcboss; 05-25-11 at 04:01 PM.
  #3  
Old 05-25-11, 01:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
ty pcboss for your reply have another ? maybe u can help

trying to install 70amp subpanel in basement, there are 2 open slots in middle of main panel, however the metal tabs of the 70amp breaker i got do not line up with the bus bars. It looks like i would have to move some single breakers from bottom half of panel up to make this work. The question i have is if i do this this means the 70amp breaker will be on the bottom half of the panel which is being fed from a 50amp breaker i take it this will not work or do i have any other options to try to make this work. Thank u for ur help
 
  #4  
Old 05-25-11, 01:06 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,515
My guess based on what you've provided so far is that there is no legal or safe way to add a 70A subpanel to this obsolete Zinsco split-bus panel. What do you intend to power with this subpanel, basic lights and receptacles or a large tool or appliance?

Can you post some links to pictures of the panel? Here is a guide: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html
 
  #5  
Old 05-25-11, 01:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
thx ibpooks i intend to add just lights and basic outlets nothing that takes 220 just 120 devices, can i even do this though?
 
  #6  
Old 05-25-11, 04:03 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
If you are just adding some basic stuff there is no need for a 70 amp subpanel. How many items are you thinking about adding? How many circuits?
 
  #7  
Old 05-25-11, 05:08 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,400
Originally Posted by sbudz View Post
Hello, i have a zinsco panel that has no main breaker and a 50amp breaker on top half of panel feeding 2 lugs at the bottom of panel. Is this a split bus panel and how does this panel work. Any information on this subject is greatly appreciated
Rather than a subpanel, I'd suggest cutting your losses now and replacing it with a main breaker copper bus panel with more circuits, thus avoiding the need for a subpanel. Please take a look at this website before you dump any money into that obsolete fire hazard of a panel.

Zinsco Sylvania Kearney Electrical Panel and Circuit Breaker Hazards, Failures, Inspection, Detection, Repair, Replacement - Sylvania Zinsco circuit breakers and panel hazards
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes