Does a 3-way dimmer work in a multi-location setup?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-28-11, 09:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 641
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does a 3-way dimmer work in a multi-location setup?

I have hallway lighting with 3 light switches. I want to install a dimmer at one location of the three switches. The identified location for the dimmer has an existing 3-way switch. Can I use a 3-way dimmer in its place? (I got a Lutron Q-603PH)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-28-11, 10:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC.
Posts: 47
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool Does a 3-way dimmer work in a multi-location setup?

Hello destruct05

Yes you can use your new dimmer to replace one of your 3 way switches.
Make sure you mark the wire that's on the Dark Screw of the old 3 way switch
This will be your Common Wire..

Hope this helps ---
Let us know how you made out with your wiring project

Have A Nice Day
Linesman
 
  #3  
Old 05-28-11, 01:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 641
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Linesman. Worked out fine.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: