Outdoor Temporary Service To Camper

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-02-11, 04:24 PM
63zerb's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Eastern PA.
Posts: 39
Outdoor Temporary Service To Camper

My In Laws are coming from AZ to stay with us in PA. They will be in a camper in our yard for two months. The total run from panel box to camper is about 115 feet. I am not sure but I think the plug on camper is 30 amp (see pics) Is the correct wire size 10-2 for 30 amp? Should this be protected by GFCI breaker? Can some one explain label on camper (see pic) It says about the connection for 110 125 volt A/C Do not connect to higher voltage. (Hope pics work not sure if URL business is correct.)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-02-11, 04:38 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Use this to post pix on your post> http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html
 
  #3  
Old 06-02-11, 05:37 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,365
Are you planning on installing a small RV receptacle on a post or using a cord?
 
  #4  
Old 06-02-11, 07:02 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,678
Hope pics work not sure if URL business is correct.
It wasn't. Must be in jpg, gif or png format for embedding.

 
  #5  
Old 06-04-11, 04:30 AM
63zerb's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Eastern PA.
Posts: 39
Plug would be installed on a post concreted in with embedded 3/4 conduit to two gang outdoor box.
 
  #6  
Old 06-04-11, 04:43 AM
63zerb's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Eastern PA.
Posts: 39
pics


can anyone open these?



 

Last edited by GregH; 06-04-11 at 06:34 AM. Reason: Edit url for pics to show in post
  #7  
Old 06-04-11, 05:06 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,282
Pics

Nope. Use Chandler's instructions posted above.
 
  #8  
Old 06-04-11, 05:20 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,991
Originally Posted by 63zerb View Post
Plug would be installed on a post concreted in with embedded 3/4 conduit to two gang outdoor box.
If you run PVC conduit, you will have to bury it 18" down and run 3 #10 THHN/THWN wires (Hot/Neutral/Ground). The conduit run will have to be continuous to run the THHN. Most cases it is helpful to run Romex from the panel to a box on the outside of the house and then convert it to the individual conductors. I also suggest using stranded wire.

OR you could run 10/2 w/G UF cable the entire way. That will be required to be buried 24" The cable will be required to be protected on each end with conduit.
 
  #9  
Old 06-04-11, 05:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,282
30 Amp RV Receptacle

Here is a good write-up on the subject:

RV Electric

Click on the 30 amp link on the left.

Hope this helps.
 
  #10  
Old 06-04-11, 07:11 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
You could use an 100' 30A extension cord if it is only temporary.(90 days or less) IIRC, travel trailers already have a 20'cord. Just install a tt-30 somewhere on your house. You will need to portect your cord connections, too.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'