Duplex Receptacle Question

Old 06-05-11, 04:00 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Duplex Receptacle Question

Situation --> Bought a house (50+ years old) and found one room had no power. Checked all breakers - None tripped - Checked with multimeter all looked good. Crawled around under house and found another subpanel? with a tripped 20A breaker. Reset it and room had power again. However, got one of those yellow testers and plugged in into a duplex receptacle. When plugged in one side, all is okay. Plugged into the other, sparks fly to the ground and take a few seconds to burn out and the breaker trips !!

Took the cover off to take a look and was going to replace it but I am a little confused by how it is wired. I am not an electrician, just a DIY'er so need some advice on the following ....

I see the black wire going to one of the brass screws (It is looped around the screw in one piece), I see the white wire going to one of the silver screws (Looped around again - Not two pieces but one solid wire) and I see the bare ground going to the green ground screw. However, I also see a small section of bare ground wire wrapped around from the other silver neutral screw to the other ground wire!! Is this usual and would this be the cause of the sparking etc? If so, why would one side seem ok but not the other? Just looking for advice!!! Thanks for any help!

Sponsored Links
Old 06-05-11, 04:11 PM