agnes 20 AMP circuit breaker double tap

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-26-11, 08:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 11
agnes 20 AMP circuit breaker double tap

Greetings,

I'm a new user and in need of help! I bought my house 23 years ago and now trying to sell it. the inspector's report states that "there is visible evidence of double tap wiring (two circuits on one breaker). so, I took the cover out and noticed that 2 circuits are on a UND Lab, Inc. 2 POLE unit breaker. is this a violation? it's on a 2 POLE and not 1 POLE. the circuits are for basebord heaters that are no longer there. I can post he photo, but don't know hoe to do it in here.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Mason
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-26-11, 08:56 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
Agnes welcome to the forums. As is true for most forums no hijacking. I have moved your post to its own thread. Pictures will help.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html
 
  #3  
Old 06-26-11, 11:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
There are few specfic breaker manufacter will allow double conductor at the lug termail so if you post model number or post the photo one of the two will help us alot.

Once we get that information then we can go from there.

Merci,
Marc
 
  #4  
Old 06-27-11, 05:55 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
If the heaters are no long used the conductors can be removed and capped off. I would label the abandoned conductors so later on someone will know what they are.
 
  #5  
Old 06-27-11, 09:12 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
I agree with pcboss. If the heaters are no longer used, simply disconnect the wires and cap them off. That solves the double-tap problem.
 
  #6  
Old 06-27-11, 12:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 11
thanks a bunch for your responses to my post. the manufacturer is ITE imperial corp. type is EQ-P. on the lable it says 2 POLE. it is two 20 amp circuit breaker. the conductors were capped off in the junction boxes and covered with a plate inside the walls. the circuit breakers are turned off at main panel. should I take the circuit breakers out of the main panle and if so, what do you do with the wires at the breaker side.

Mason
 
  #7  
Old 06-27-11, 12:36 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
You can leave the breakers turned off in the panel. I would removed the conducotrs from the breaker and cap them off.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'