Back wiring - two wires per screw acceptable?

Closed Thread

  #1  
Old 07-06-11, 05:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Back wiring - two wires per screw acceptable?

I'm using Leviton Prograde back-wire (not quick-stab) receptacles on a 12-2 circuit - each screw plate has capacity for 2 wires. Am I OK to use one screw for line and load? I realize pigtails would eliminate a point of failure (as well as introducing one), but the chances of this seem slim. I know side wiring is strictly one wire per screw...

I believe I'm also OK to use 15A outlets with a 20A breaker as there are more than one receptacle per circuit. (There is no mixed cable (or lights - the circuit is outlets only).

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-06-11, 05:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
Yes, you can use two wires. By US code (Canada varies) you may use 15a receptacles so long as there are two or more places for plugs. The receptacles are typically rated 20a pass through.
 
  #3  
Old 07-06-11, 07:19 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I like to use 20A outlets because it makes it easier to find which ones is on a 20A circut. Just my opinion.
 
  #4  
Old 07-06-11, 08:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,374
Justin, in all of your lifetime have you EVER seen any non-commercial electrical appliance that had a 20 ampere plug? I've been around about four times as long as you and I never have. Come to think about it, I'll state that I have probably only seen a half-dozen commercial appliances that were cord-and-plug connected that had a 20 ampere plug.
 
  #5  
Old 07-07-11, 06:38 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,359
Originally Posted by Justin Smith View Post
I like to use 20A outlets because it makes it easier to find which ones is on a 20A circut. Just my opinion.
Why do you need to find a twenty amp circuit? As Furd says below you will not commonly find a 20 amp cord cap in a residential setting. Installing the twenty amp devices is a waste of money.
 
  #6  
Old 07-07-11, 07:01 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
To answer both of your questions, if I have two appliannces that use more than 7.5A each, if I see the t-slot I know that it is a 20A circut and that is the circut I know to plug the appliances into.
 
  #7  
Old 07-07-11, 08:11 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
Justin we are here to give people reasonable advice in usually encountered situations. You could just mark the receptacles with a red dot. No need for a special receptacle. However no real need to do even that because the situation you propose is unlikely to occur.
 
  #8  
Old 07-07-11, 08:26 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
Question has been answered. Post is locked. nicktf PM me if you have further questions. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/pr...newpm&u=173257
 
  #9  
Old 07-07-11, 07:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
Originally Posted by nicktf View Post
I'm using Leviton Prograde back-wire (not quick-stab) receptacles on a 12-2 circuit - each screw plate has capacity for 2 wires. Am I OK to use one screw for line and load? I realize pigtails would eliminate a point of failure (as well as introducing one), but the chances of this seem slim. I know side wiring is strictly one wire per screw...

I believe I'm also OK to use 15A outlets with a 20A breaker as there are more than one receptacle per circuit. (There is no mixed cable (or lights - the circuit is outlets only).

Thanks!
Just a quick head up in USA side the 15 A Duplex receptale is legit to use on 20 amp circuit { this is on non commercal useage the commercal will have slightly diffrent codés depending on their local codé requirement.}

Merci,
Marc

P.S. the thread will stay lock for time being.
 
Closed Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'