Wiring outlet for dishwasher and disposer

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-06-11, 10:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Wiring outlet for dishwasher and disposer

I had to remove the outlet that fed the dishwasher and disposer. I made notes on how the existing wiring was. But I don't understand why things were wired this way. Maybe I got my notes wrong and need some help understanding...

Since the outlet feeds the dishwasher and disposer, I presume one is always on and the other is controlled by a switch.

There is one 3 wire cable coming into the outlet (red, black, white and ground) and another 2 wire cable coming in as well (black, white and ground).

From the 3 wire cable, I would have connected the black and white to the top outlet and left the red unused. From the 2 wire cable, I would have connected the black and white to the lower outlet. (1) Would this be the right way to do it?

Instead, I made notes saying that the red from the 3 wire was connected to the hot of the top outlet, the black from the 3 wire connected to the white of the 2 wire. The black from the 2 wire connected to the hot of the bottom outlet. And white from the 3 wire connected to the neutral(s). (2) Can anyone please help me understand what was being done here?

TIA.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-06-11, 11:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,374
You have a wall switch near the sink to control the garbage grinder, correct? That will be the two-wire cable. This arrangement is called a switch loop.

If you are using a new receptacle rather than the original you will first need to break out the tab between the brass-colored screws. This isolates the two individual receptacle locations for use with a "Multi-
Wire Branch Circuit" (MWBC) which is the three-wire cable.

Follow your note as it IS the correct wiring for these two circuits.

Wrap a bit of black tape (or use a black marking pen) on the white wire of the two-wire cable to denote it IS a "hot" lead in a switch loop. Although not absolutely necessary you should also do this "re-identification" at the switch itself.
 
  #3  
Old 07-07-11, 10:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Thaks Furd. You are right. The two-wire was not live, but connected to the switch. I was assuming both the three-wire and two-wire to be live and the switch being in serial to one of them, that was the source of my confusion. I now have one outlet always on (red wire from three-wire) and another controlled by the switch (three-wire black goes to switch and back). Thanks again.
 
  #4  
Old 07-07-11, 11:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,374
You're welcome! I just wish that all the problems posed on this site were so easy.
 
  #5  
Old 07-08-11, 07:16 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I just wish that all the problems posed on this site were so easy.
But then there would be no fun in it
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'