Electrical Bubble Cover to Code?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-11-11, 05:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Electrical Bubble Cover to Code?

OK, I hired an electrician to install an additional outdoor outlet. I told him where I wanted it installed, only to come outside and find him cutting a hole in my vinyl siding under the window, 2 feet from where I wanted it, where the ugly box would not only be visible but difficult to reach since it's to the left of my pergola post. I guess I'm stuck with it. Anyway, the bubble cover doesn't seal against the vinyl, and it seems a problem to me that rain can get inside it. Is this a problem, and how do I fix it?

http://i459.photobucket.com/albums/q...ket/outlet.jpg
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-11-11, 06:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,942
Really? He said he was an electrician? It's not even in a box. That's no good. That cover seals itself against an electrical box. The outlet should also be GFCI.
 
  #3  
Old 07-11-11, 07:17 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,065
Geeze you can see the receptacle screws. Hope the check hasn't cleared. You need to turn off the power to that receptacle. The exposed screws are a hazard.
 
  #4  
Old 07-11-11, 08:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
A legit electricain will not leave like that kind of workmanship at all.

I will just install the countersunked in use cover with box that look far better than just a plain jane bubble cover.

Call that person and tell them that you are not safised at all.

There are better one out in the market.

Merci,
Marc
 
  #5  
Old 07-12-11, 06:35 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,595
Arlington has many options for siding boxes to solve this. Here is one option.

Low Profile IN BOX™ for Retrofit Siding Construction

Like others said, this guy was a hack.
 
  #6  
Old 07-12-11, 10:04 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,515
I would use the box that pcboss posted to fix this. You should also call your city's electrical inspector to report this guy for working without a license or permit.
 
  #7  
Old 07-12-11, 05:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 14
Thanks for all your advice. I knew it was messed up. The shocking thing is that this loser was recommended by the company that built my house! I thought that meant he knew what he was doing, but clearly that was not the case. Today some REAL electricians came out to fix it, and when they said what he had done said, “That’s insane!” They put in a box with a GFCI. They also said that California goes after hacks like him, but South Carolina hasn’t caught up yet. Great. Just great.
 
  #8  
Old 07-12-11, 06:02 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,065
Glad you got it fixed. We have seen the before picture. How about the after picture?
 
  #9  
Old 07-13-11, 05:49 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,405
The shocking thing is that this loser was recommended by the company that built my house!
Do you suppose he also wired your house?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes