How to wire a pilot light switch??????

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-14-11, 09:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 591
Exclamation How to wire a pilot light switch??????

Hi,

I'm replacing a vintage pilot light switch w/a new Decora 5628-2T > Rocker Switch > Commercial Grade > Decora Devices > All Products from Leviton Electrical and Electronic Products 5628-2W and cannot figure out the wiring. I thought I followed the diagram, but all I get is a pilot light that's lit and never shuts off and no switching.

The old switch had two screw pairs. The hot came in and was switched and the neutral passed through. The new switch has only three screws. I checked continuity and there is no switching ever. The black is always connected to the lower right screw and the upper right screw is never connected, no matter what switch position.

I thought this would be a simple replacement, but I need your help!!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-14-11, 09:51 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
Is one screw silver and two screws brass on the new switch? Colors and number of wires in the box. Were 3 wires entering the box and one pigtailed to two wires?

 
  #3  
Old 07-14-11, 10:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 591
New switch: one black screw, one silver screw, one brass screw (and a ground).

Box: two 14-2 cables (black,white,ground) one line in and the other to fixtures

Old switch: two brass screws, two silver screws
 
  #4  
Old 07-14-11, 10:20 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
Try pig tailing the two white wires to the silver, the black wire of the power in cable to the black screw and the black wire of power out cable to the brass screw.

I'm guessing a bit on the fact a dark colored screw usually means common. If that doesn't work swap the black wires.
 
  #5  
Old 07-14-11, 04:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 591
PERFECT! Thank you Ray.
 
  #6  
Old 07-14-11, 07:47 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Did the old switch have an incandescent lamp?
 
  #7  
Old 07-14-11, 08:42 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,058
Originally Posted by Justin Smith View Post
Did the old switch have an incandescent lamp?
Doesn't matter since the new switch uses a neutral.
 
  #8  
Old 07-14-11, 09:11 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Doesn't matter since the new switch uses a neutral
I was just curious. Ive seen incandescent ones before and just curious if this was the incandescent, too.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes