Welder Receptacle

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-24-11, 09:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Near Sacramento,CA
Posts: 20
Welder Receptacle

I just purchased another welder and it will run on 110 or 220. The 220 plug plugs into a NEMA 6-50R and requires a 35 amp (25 amp time delay) fuse or breaker. My old welder plugs into a NEMA 6-50R and requires 50 amp service. Any ideas on how to use the same receptacle and protect each device. My only idea is to put a fused disconnect at the outlet and change fuses per welder. Any other ideas?
Thanks,
Randy
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-24-11, 09:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,941
You can plug the new welder into the same outlet with no problem. The 35 amp requirement is a minimum. You can use it on a circuit rated at 50 amps.
 
  #3  
Old 07-24-11, 08:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Near Sacramento,CA
Posts: 20
The welder manual says not to size the branch circuit protection by the plug rating, so I'm thinking they are protecting the welder at 35 amps.
 
  #4  
Old 07-25-11, 06:58 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
The welder manual says not to size the branch circuit protection by the plug rating, so I'm thinking they are protecting the welder at 35 amps.
I think 50A is fine. Maybe you would want to reduce to a 40A breaker, but you would have a real hard time finding a 35A fuse.
 
  #5  
Old 07-25-11, 09:19 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,296
Welders have a wide range of compatible breakers and circuits. What are the specs on the new welder? Specifically input amps and duty cycle. What is the make/model?

Your old welder plug is a 6-50 with 50A breaker, but do you know what AWG the wiring in the wall is? In some cases it might be as small as #12 which may or may not be okay for this welder.
 
  #6  
Old 07-25-11, 05:55 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
Originally Posted by Justin Smith View Post
I think 50A is fine. Maybe you would want to reduce to a 40A breaker, but you would have a real hard time finding a 35A fuse.
Any good supply house stocks them. Even Home Depot stocks them.

Find a Cooper Bussmann FRN Series 35 Amp Brass Time-Delay Fuse Cartridges (2-Pack) - BP/FRN-R-35 at The Home Depot
 
  #7  
Old 07-25-11, 06:37 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Any good supply house stocks them. Even Home Depot stocks them.
I thought they jumped from 30 right to 40. My bad.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'