Adding A Switch ForA Wall Outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-24-11, 11:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 25
Adding A Switch ForA Wall Outlet

I am remodeling a duplex that was built in the early fifties. I have taken the drywall off an exterior wall to add insulation, and would like to add a switch for the wall outlet while I am at it.

There is currently one switch for the light that is right outside the door. The electric cable feeds down into the box (presumable from the light). Then it goes down to the outlet, which is the end of the circuit. The cable feeding into the box has a black, white, and red wire. The cable leaving the box for the outlet has only a white and black wire. I am replacing the oulet with a GFCI so that it has a ground.

How can I install an outlet switch in this situation?

Help, please.

Pat:
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-24-11, 11:55 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
First, a GFI does not provide a ground.

Secondly we need to know if you wiring is grounded. Ungrounded circuits should not be extended.
 
  #3  
Old 07-24-11, 01:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 25
Grounds were connected to the metal junction box.
 
  #4  
Old 07-24-11, 02:04 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Is there a ground wire coming in the cable from the breaker panel?
 
  #5  
Old 07-25-11, 05:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 25
No. Guess that outlet just wont have a switch. Don't know what I was thinking. Sorry to bother you all.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'