TYING TWO 100AMP BREAKER BOXES TOGETHER

Old 01-04-01, 11:08 AM
Visiting Guest
I HAVE A 100 AMP 12 CURCIT 20 SPACE BREAKER BOX IN MY HOUSE.ALL THE SPACES ARE USED UP.I WANT TO BUILD A GARAGE AND RUN ELECTRICITY FROM THE HOUSE TO THE GARAGE.WHAT I WANT TO KNOW IS CAN I USE ANOTHER 100 AMP BOX WITH A FEW SPACES AND TIE INTO THE EXISTING SERVICE BOX.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-04-01, 11:22 AM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes.

Old 01-04-01, 11:33 AM
Visiting Guest
thanks,JOHN. ARE YOU AN ELECTRICIAN?YOU SEEM TO KNOW ALOT ABOUT WIRING.

Old 01-04-01, 01:01 PM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, I'm not an electrician. But there are several here (e.g., Wg), and I hope they will chime in with a bunch of caveats and other things you'll need to remember when you do this.

Are you planning to do this work yourself?

Old 01-04-01, 05:12 PM
Wgoodrich
Visiting Guest
Might be cheaper to use the unlimite tap rule of the NEC and exchange you original meterbase outside with a 325 amp double lug meter. Then run the existing feeders of you house panel to one set of the double lugs and run the feeders to the garage as long as this garage is not attached to the house. This would allow you the full panel capablilities in the detached garage without running the load through you 100 amp panel in you house. I suspect you are already pushing the capacity of that 100 amp panel in your home. You might want to do a demand load calculation on your dwelling to see what the minimum panel size that is required for you house as it is today, before adding any load out of that panel.

I believe that you should be able rely on what John Nelson has to say. He may not be an electrician but I suspect his training parallels mine. At least when we don't agree on giving a certain advise, we both seem to be skilled enough to know what each other disagrees about.

Hope this helps

Wg

Old 01-05-01, 09:48 AM
J
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post