Wiring a attic Fan.

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-06-11, 08:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Wiring a attic Fan.

Hello,
I my attic, I have a receptacle with two sockets. On one, my AC Coil is connected.
Can i connect the attic Fan on the second socket. It has 3.4 A rating.

Appreciate your help.

Thanks,
gurupuru.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-06-11, 08:52 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,677
You should be able to if it is a grounded circuit..
 
  #3  
Old 08-06-11, 09:06 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Is the fan plug-in or hardwired? If it is made to be hardwired, you must hardwire it.
 
  #4  
Old 08-06-11, 09:13 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Thanks for the response.

I am not sure about it, but it doesnt have a plug connected to it.

It has wires hanging off the thermostat.

Providing a link for the fan here.

Amazon.com: Lomanco 2000 MILL Power Roof Ventilator: Home Improvement
 
  #5  
Old 08-06-11, 09:42 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,365
Is the coil 120 or 240 volts?
 
  #6  
Old 08-06-11, 10:27 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Assuming everything is 120V, you can Just run some 12/2(If a 20A circut) or 14-2(if a 15A circut) from the outlet box to the fan thermostat box.
 
  #7  
Old 08-07-11, 04:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Thank You all.

I hooked it up, as you guys suggested. Got a 14/3 cable ,ran it to the thermostat and plugged into the spare socket on the receptacle.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'