Spa / Hot tub electrical wiring problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-06-11, 09:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3
Spa / Hot tub electrical wiring problem

Hi All

I am from South Africa and recently bought a Spa when I went to one of the big cities. They placed a DB-box on the spa and said that I can connect only the 4mm wires from the main DB in the house. I have done just that but the heater is not working. Initially the pressure switch didn't work, but I got that sorted out. I am not sure if that is the right configuration though.

I made a hand drawing of the wiring as it currently is. Some of the information is written on the drawing.

I would normally get a electrician to sort this stuff out, but the closest electrician to this farm is 300km.

Can you please give me advice as to what wiring is wrongly connected on this drawing. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you


(How do a I add a jpg picture, they only allow me to add URL's - it is essential to understand the current layout)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-06-11, 09:59 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,859
Well....this may be a first. This is primarily a N American site...but we've helped people in the UK, Australia, and Mexico...so why not S Africa.

We'll probably need some details on what type power system you have there.....but here's some info on the pics...How To Put Pictures In Your Post - DoItYourself.com Community Forums

Basically upload to a hosting site, then put in the post.
 
  #3  
Old 08-06-11, 10:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3
Thank you Gunguy 45, the help is appreciated.

I think the picture / drawing is self explanatory. You will see that there is a main switch and neck to it the heater and pump circuit breakers.

Hope the drawing is clear, please ask if you need more information.

Thank you

 

Last edited by ray2047; 08-06-11 at 06:11 PM.
  #4  
Old 08-06-11, 11:16 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,859
Still no picture.....is it on the way? Sometimes there is a delay between your post and the pictures appearing....
 
  #5  
Old 08-06-11, 11:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Africa
Posts: 3
Hi Gunguy45

I am not sure what is wrong.
It is as follow:
181347.jpg picture by sjpbotha - Photobucket

Thank you
 
  #6  
Old 08-06-11, 12:25 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,859
Ok....it's showing up now. You'll have to wait for an electrical Pro to step in and advise from here on....
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'