Isolation Problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-06-11, 04:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 77
Question Isolation Problem

I have 2 fans, 2 switches, 1 light and one power source. I want to be able to turn the fans on with one switch, the light with the other switch but I'm thinking that you can't isolate the fans from the light when there's only one power source, correct?

thanks
Syb
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-06-11, 05:33 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,350
You could split the power to feed both switches and run a switched hot to the fan and the light. Done all the time.

Are you dealing with existing wiring or new construction? If old we would need to know how many conductors and how the cables are run.
 
  #3  
Old 08-06-11, 08:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 77
Thanks.
Using existing wiring, 2 conductor.
The power is at an outside wall junction box.
Fans are mounted under a balcony and cables run to the junction box
The fan switch is inside the house and cable run to the junction box
Light is mounted under the balcony between the fans and a cable run to the junction box
The light switch is inside the house in the same electrical box as the fan switch and a cable run to the outside junction box as well

Thanks for you help
 
  #4  
Old 08-06-11, 09:45 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Is the outside wiring cable or conduit? This sounds easy.
 
  #5  
Old 08-07-11, 04:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 77
Originally Posted by Justin Smith View Post
Is the outside wiring cable or conduit? This sounds easy.
It's all 12-2 electrical wire cable
 
  #6  
Old 08-07-11, 09:41 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
You should be able to take out the old wire then and replace it with 12/3 UF. Is this all exposed in the outside portion?
 
  #7  
Old 08-07-11, 10:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 77
Originally Posted by pcboss View Post
You could split the power to feed both switches and run a switched hot to the fan and the light. Done all the time.
I think what I'm wanting to do is like what the originator of this thread stated:

Two Lights - Two Switches - One CCT - Electrical - DIY Chatroom - DIY Home Improvement Forum

The only difference is that there is one more load (fan) fed by one of the switches.

Is the schematic provided by Surrogate what you are suggesting I do?


 
  #8  
Old 08-07-11, 10:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 77
Originally Posted by Justin Smith View Post
You should be able to take out the old wire then and replace it with 12/3 UF. Is this all exposed in the outside portion?
Yes, it's exposed but the wire going into the house takes a 90 deg turn inside a wall and would be a real PITA to replace.
 
  #9  
Old 08-08-11, 07:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 77
Figured it out. Problem was I had one wire connected wrong. Thanks
 
  #10  
Old 08-08-11, 07:31 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
ok. Glad you told us.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'