What would I expect to pay?

Old 08-10-11, 09:16 AM
What would I expect to pay?

I want to re-wire my house. It was built in 1940, and the electrical is currently a hodgepodge of romex, antique cloth insulated wiring, and from what I can tell there's probably some bubble gum in there...

This is my current panel layout:

Isn't it pretty?

I have some experience with wiring and am comfortable running lines and hooking up outlets, but nothing on this scope, and I also am aware that to upgrade the panel (which I think is sorely needed) to 200A which means a new main line to the house, so obviously I need a proper inspection and such, so a pro is a must.

However, we're on a budget, so what I would like to do is bring in a pro as a consultant/finisher. Initially I'd want him or her to come in and review my plan and help me figure out the new wiring layout. Then I would open the necessary points and run the wires myself without actually hooking them up, just getting them run properly to the correct end points.

Finally, the pro would come in again, check my work, and wire up the panel while I swap the fixtures over from the old wiring to the new, and finally I'd remove all the old.

Questions:
1) Is this a reasonable idea for a project?
2) What would I expect to pay a pro for this kind of work?
3) What kind of costs am I looking at for a new panel?

Thanks much!

BTW if you liked that pic, here are some other gems:

Morrets? What are those???

Seriously, why do we need to cover the copper?

Nobody will EVER put a nail or screw in the CEILING...

Sponsored Links
Old 08-10-11, 09:42 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Originally Posted by chaeberle View Post
I want to re-wire my house.
To what end? What specifically are your goals for the project? Do you need more power for appliances/hot tub/etc? Do you need more receptacles? You could anything from a complete gut and rewire to 2011 code to just adding a few circuits here and there.