Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

GFCI Switch/Outlet Combo-replacing nonGFCI-9 wires in box-switch works/notoutlet

GFCI Switch/Outlet Combo-replacing nonGFCI-9 wires in box-switch works/notoutlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-11-11, 05:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
GFCI Switch/Outlet Combo-replacing nonGFCI-9 wires in box-switch works/notoutlet

Help- I've read all the other posts relating to this subject, but could not find the answer to this issue:
Followed previous advice given -
If I understand correctly, you have three black/white/bare cables coming into the box. Let's call the cable providing incoming power "P", the cable providing outgoing unswitched power "D", and the cable providing outgoing switched power to the light "L". I'll use "b" to indicate a black wire and "w" to indicate a white wire. Grounding wires and screws will hearafter go unmentioned, but I assume you know what to do with them.

There are many ways to connect this up depending on what you want to be GFCI protected and what you want to be switched. For now, I'll assume that you want only this one outlet to be protected (i.e., no downstream GFCI protection) and that you want only the one light to be switched.
Use a wire nut to connect these four black wires together: Pb, Db, one of the two switch wires, and another short segment of black wire (called a "pigtail"). Connect the other end of the black pigtail to the LINE HOT screw.

Use another wire nut to connect these four white wires together: Pw, Dw, Lw, and a white pigtail. Connect the other end of the white pigtail to the LINE WHITE screw.

Connect Lb to the other switch wire."

So I did this. My switch works the light, the outlet has no power, with the switch on or off. Help! and thanks...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-11-11, 07:41 PM
tldoug's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 317
Welcome to the forums.

I would start by confirming that your "Pb" and "Pw" pigtails are making good contact inside the wire nuts. I would also use a voltmeter to test across the back of the outlet just to be certain power is at the outlet.

Good luck with your project.
 
  #3  
Old 08-11-11, 07:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Thank you... I have checked all my connections a few times as I initially was wondering if this could be the cause. i do not own a voltometer, so I guess that will be my next step. I did think there was power tho, due to the light turning on and off with the switch. any other suggestions??
 
  #4  
Old 08-12-11, 07:38 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,984
Dumb question -> You did hit the reset button on the GFCI right?
 
  #5  
Old 08-12-11, 08:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
yep I checked that! I'm stumped... going to get a voltometer... any other help???
 
  #6  
Old 08-12-11, 06:03 PM
tldoug's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 317
You could try a lamp in a socket with pigtails going to the contacts on the back of the outlet.

The fact that your light circuit works only proves that those wires are making good contact inside the wire nuts.
 
  #7  
Old 08-13-11, 07:33 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,984
Make sure you have the Pb and Pw pigtails to the LINE side of the GFCI. It will lock it self out if wired backwards.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'