Dishwasher electrical

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-19-11, 06:06 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dishwasher electrical

Hi, i'm buying a dishwasher for a house that never had one. There is no dedicated circuit for it, and id prefer to use an existing one. There is wiring directly below the spot i need it that simply has 2 basement lights on them (that dont get used often). Is it ok to run those up through the floor for the dishwasher?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-19-11, 06:09 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Why don't you want to run a new line.
 
  #3  
Old 08-19-11, 06:23 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The breaker box is on the other side of the house, and the basement is finished. I suppose i could call an electrician to take a look, just wondered if i could get away with doing it myself
 
  #4  
Old 08-19-11, 09:45 PM
SD515's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 63
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What do the instructions say about the power source? Does it state to have a dedicated circuit?
 
  #5  
Old 08-20-11, 04:30 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
nothing about a dedicated circuit, just a 15 or 20 amp that is not on the same ones as the countertop outlets.
 
  #6  
Old 08-20-11, 06:23 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,077
Received 62 Votes on 54 Posts
Most will probably call for a dedicated circuit.
 
  #7  
Old 08-20-11, 07:02 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If it uses more than 50% of the circut's capacity, it needs a dedicated.
 
  #8  
Old 08-21-11, 02:12 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,534
Received 25 Votes on 24 Posts
Many dishwashers use a 1kw heater, so the nameplate rates at near 9 amps. Check yours. If you have a 20A/12AWG circuit going to the lights, you may share. If the existing light circuit is fed by 14 AWG, consider dedicating that circuit to the DW and find another general purpose circuit to power the two basement lights.
 
  #9  
Old 08-22-11, 09:24 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
It wouldn't be the end of the world to use the basement light circuit, but a dedicated would be best. The lights will flicker while the dishwasher is running which is a cosmetic thing that may get annoying.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: