I dont know why the electric kicked off

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-30-11, 05:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Wink I dont know why the electric kicked off

First and formost Im thankful that a site like this exists.I don't know anything about hooking up an electric range.This is what has transpired so far,I have an old electric stove here in the mobile home,it it over 15+yrs.old and it has 4 prong plug in.I bought a differant "used-old"stove and it has three prongs.So my friend switched plugs with the stoves and plugged in the replacement stove and all the electric kicked off.Unplugged stove.Flipped main breaker back on,electric is back on.Anywho,my friend meant well,but is as lost as I am about these things.Should we switch the cords back to what they were,and try replugging the stove in?Scarey stuff.Thanks for your time in reading this.Breeze
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-30-11, 05:41 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! How did he wire the cord to the new stove? Not sure what color code you have on the cord, but most likely black, red, white and either bare or green. The green should be attached to the body of the new stove via a grounding screw. The white is a neutral in case there is a clock or ignitor that requires one. The red and black are your hot leads. If you could take a couple of pictures of the cord hook up you have a present, and post it here, maybe we can get it straight for you. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html
 
  #3  
Old 08-30-11, 05:48 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,211
Assuming the wiring is similar for a 4 plug dryer, there may be a ground strap that needs to be removed. I just bought a new dryer that had instructions for attaching a 3 prong or 4 prong and had to remove the ground strap to hook up the 4 prong cord.
 
  #4  
Old 08-30-11, 06:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
stove wrirng

here is a link for a picture of the stove wiring. Facebook
 
  #5  
Old 08-30-11, 07:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
no green or bare wire.there are four wires.first one he hooked up is red,the two in the middle one black,one white,then the last one is black.
 
  #6  
Old 08-30-11, 07:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by marksr View Post
Assuming the wiring is similar for a 4 plug dryer, there may be a ground strap that needs to be removed. I just bought a new dryer that had instructions for attaching a 3 prong or 4 prong and had to remove the ground strap to hook up the 4 prong cord.
I appreciate your suggestion,ground strap?Will look it up and see what it is and if it is the "solution to the problem"
 
  #7  
Old 08-30-11, 07:27 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
editting due to overlooking something

There is a green wire...,upon further inspection..,there is a green wire..,it was so dirty it looked black..,oh my.anywho...,the red wire is first then white then black..,so what do I do with the green one..,no place to hook it up?humm what was done so far..,stove just perchased had a three prong,so put on the four prong,there is a 4 prong outlet.when plugged in,shut main breaker off.(oh course)He put red wire on first terminal.,then black and white on 2nd,and the mistaken black (which is green"just dirty" on third..,oh heck)So hoping this new discovery will do the trick..,unhook the green one from the last terminal and put black one there,what 2 do with green wire?
 

Last edited by BreezeChic; 08-30-11 at 08:37 AM. Reason: oh heck
  #8  
Old 08-30-11, 08:47 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,632
There should be a green screw in the range chassis for the green wire. It will usually be screwed directly into the metal case or chassis. If you have three threaded studs on the range look for a green wire or metal strap on the center silver screw where the white wire goes. That green wire or strap is removed from the stud and where it fastens to the range chassis is where the ground of the new cord goes.

 

Last edited by ray2047; 08-30-11 at 01:16 PM. Reason: Altered type of apliance
  #9  
Old 08-30-11, 11:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,269
Wiring

Ray, I know the connections will be the same, but the OP is talking about connecting a range, not a dryer.

I think I read something about a black and white being connected to same terminal. That does not sound right to me.
 
  #10  
Old 08-30-11, 11:57 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,211
I brought up the dryer On my dryer, there is a ground strap from the neutral to the chassis. The ground strap is left intact when using a 3 prong plug, the strap is removed for a 4 prong and the chassis is grounded separately. I don't know if this applies to a stove or not.

Guess I better leave the rest to the electricians and stick to painting
 
  #11  
Old 08-30-11, 01:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,632
Wiring is basically the same for a range. I have edited my post.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'