Induction sensor to turn on a device?

Old 08-30-11, 08:01 PM
Induction sensor to turn on a device?

Hi all, I'm not electrical savvy. I have a USB hube that is powered via A/C outlet and the computer's 5v rail.

I have a smart powerstrip that cuts power to the usb hub when the computer turns off. Unfortunately, the computer still receives 5v's and will take over powering the USB hub. (There is no way to turn this off via BIOS on my mobo or software, I checked)

I'm trying to rig something that will detect current on the a/c outlet cable, and will operate a switch on the USB 5v power. So when the a/c power source is off, it will open (break) the 5v circuit going to the computer, and vice versa.

What parts would do this? I believe there is a horseshoe shaped thing that inductively detects current. I'm looking for the simplest way, since I'm no expert.

Trying to avoid physically switching or unplugging it, since it's very hard to reach. I'd like to be able to hit the "sleep" button on the comp and walk away.

Thanks
Brian

Sponsored Links
Old 08-30-11, 09:38 PM
They're not cheap, probably start at about fifty bucks but this is what you want.

NK Technologies A Current Sensing Products Company Built Upon A History Of Innovation

Old 08-31-11, 03:42 AM
The easiest way to stop the computer from powering the hub is to cut the wire that is connected to Pin 1 of the cable from the computer to the hub. Obviously you won't be able to power devices off that cable once you've cut the wire.

Pinouts

Old 08-31-11, 05:35 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I have to ask why this is important?

Old 08-31-11, 06:40 PM
You could also get a wallwart and a "Normally open" small relay. When the wallwart loses power the relay opens.

Old 08-31-11, 07:22 PM