Need to rewire Generator plug

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-02-11, 11:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Need to rewire Generator plug

I have a 7kw generator, there is one outlet that is 30a 120v (L5) , 2 outlets 120v 20a, and 4prong 20a 240v outlet.

I want to remove the 30a 120v and the 2 120v outlets and make one 240v with all the amps ..

I tested the hots from the 30a and 20a 120v and get 240v which means they are different hot legs from the generator. Would it be easy to remove the panel and change the 4prong 240v to a higher amp plug and rewire inside the panel ??
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-02-11, 12:23 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,595
The output of the generator will not increase doing what you propose. Your receptacles are configured to allow flexibility in what you power. You are limited to 7000 watts of output power. If the 30 amp receptacle is not used it is not affecting anything.
 
  #3  
Old 09-02-11, 01:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 23
7k watts is true, but 20a is only 1/2 of what the generator is capable of ..
 
  #4  
Old 09-02-11, 03:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,066
Originally Posted by 2dogs2 View Post
7k watts is true, but 20a is only 1/2 of what the generator is capable of ..
7000240=29.16 so 20a is approximately 2/3 of the output. What are you planing to power with this?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes