Moving a 230 Outlet for Window AC unit.

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-11-11, 01:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Moving a 230 Outlet for Window AC unit.

I bought a new window AC unit which had the plug on the opposite side from the old one. Had to loosen the 230 volt 3 wire outlet from the wall to get unit to plug in. I am now in the process of wiring up a new external outlet so that cord won't stretch across window and to have a safe and secure outlet. I am getting power to the AC unit as lights and compressor works, but the AC fan is not. Is it possible the outlet is not wired correctly or did I just jack up my AC unit?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-12-11, 10:53 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
I'm not sure exactly what you did and what you're asking. Could you post a picture of the receptacle and cord in question?

Also make sure that the new A/C unit has electrical specs that are compatible with your circuit. Most newer A/C units are substantially more efficient than old units so they use smaller circuits or even 120V circuits.
 
  #3  
Old 09-12-11, 07:00 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,301
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
If it's a 230 volt unit plugged into a 230 volt outlet and the lights and compressor work, the fan should be working too. You could take the unit back and exchange it or call for factory service. If you have it plugged into a 120 volt outlet, the compressor and fan definitely wouldn't be working. If it's a 120 volt unit plugged into a 230 volt outlet, the lights and compressor and fan motor would have fried as soon as you turned the unit on.
 
  #4  
Old 09-12-11, 07:21 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Had to loosen the 230 volt 3 wire outlet from the wall to get unit to plug in.
Do you mean the AC cord was too short? Did you disconnect the receptacle when you pulled it out of the wall?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: