Usually high Electricity Bill

Old 09-22-11, 07:22 AM
Question Usually high Electricity Bill

Hello all,

I'm not sure if this is the right forum to post this but ..... my Electric meter reading is 2X what my average month usage normally is and I still have 15 days left to go for this billing cycle. ComEd stated that they won't be coming out to test the meter until Oct 5th which means my usage would have quadrupled at this rate. I was wondering if there is anything I can do to detect the culprit besides waiting for them. I have no experience with Electrical projects.

Thanks in advance.

PS. I'm heading to work so I won't be able to respond until later at night.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-22-11, 07:41 AM
Is this a house, an apartment, or condo? What type of meter do you have?
If you shut everything off and then throw the main breaker and all other breakers, does the meter still continue to increase?

If the meter stops, then bring the main panel back online and check again. Then repeat with each breaker in the panel to see if one in particular is pulling power when nothing in the house is turned on.

Bud

Old 09-22-11, 07:43 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
If you could provide some more info about your house and any electrical appliances it might help to focus the discussion. Does your meter stop spinning when you turn the main breaker off? You might be able to pin down what is using the most power by selectively turning breakers off and watching the spin rate of the meter.

I have heard of the heat being on at the same time as the AC.

Old 09-22-11, 08:33 AM
Thanks pcboss and Bud9051.

If you could provide some more info about your house and any electrical appliances it might help to focus the discussion.