Is a bigger sub=panel the solution?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-29-11, 07:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 172
Is a bigger sub-panel the solution?

Hey Guys,

I'm about to renovate my basement, which was finished in the 70s and is need of a fresh start.

I want to add a few extra circuits, as the current space only has 2 branch circuits, one for lights and one for outlets.

In the new space I would like to add a dedicated line for an AV gear, and possibly a wine storage unit. In addition I will probably need two circuits for lighting and two for outlet space.

I curently have a 100A main and a 40A sub. The main panel is full, with one circuit doubled-up, and the sub is also full.

Would the sensible solution be to install a new and larger sub panel? What size panel can I feed from the 100A main panel? What are the brands to look for at HD or Lowes, and what are the approximate costs for a project like this as a DIY and contracted job?

Thanks!

Bryan
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-29-11, 08:08 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
Installing a larger sub is probably less work than installing a new and larger panel. If you are not adding a significant load that may be the way to go.

I like Square D or Cutler-Hammer classic brown. Depending on the existing load you might be able to install a 60 amp or larger sub. Either of those should be more than enough for a basement.
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-11, 08:18 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
If you don't need to upgrade your service to 200A, I would just install a bigger sub. Square D QO series and Siemens Copper buss are the two I like best.
 
  #4  
Old 09-30-11, 07:28 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
I agree with the others, replace the sub. You can go as large as 100 amp on the sub panel off your main panel if you wish. A 100 amp main breaker panel is about $55 at the big boys.
 
  #5  
Old 09-30-11, 03:47 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,259
You could also add a second sub next to the main panel and leave the existing 40A sub as-is. Just another option...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes