1800s house (renting) has NO GROUND upstairs.

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-29-11, 08:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA baby
Posts: 1
Exclamation 1800s house (renting) has NO GROUND upstairs.

Hey first post! Help!

1- No ground - Tested with cheap plug light up thing (open ground its says). Also, when plugging up surge protectors - no 2nd light.

2- Voltage (from mutimeter as well) says 119 volts....WTF?


I am renting and have complained. Nothing done yet. Anything in the basement I can do? I have looked (as told) for a seperate ground box. THANKS!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-29-11, 09:26 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,053
2- Voltage (from mutimeter as well) says 119 volts....WTF?
That is a correct reading.

No ground
Do you mean 3 hole receptacles? If so not a big deal but not code compliant.

I have looked (as told) for a seperate ground box.
No such thing as far as I know.

As a renter you can't do much. Really don't see anything to worry about.
 
  #3  
Old 09-30-11, 07:11 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
Voltage stated is nominal and varies depending on load and other factors. 120 volts can range between 110 - 130 volts but in most cases it will be within 2-3 volts of 120.
 
  #4  
Old 09-30-11, 03:51 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,255
It would be nice to have grounded receptacles, but there's really no solution other than to run new circuits - which as a renter, you're not going to be able to do.

I'd still use surge protectors, but realize that they won't be as effective without a ground.

One of the downsides of living in a historic house.
 
  #5  
Old 09-30-11, 07:05 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
The only thing that can be done is to run new circuts for grounded outlets.

Another option is th install GFCI receptacles, which will give you 3-prong receptacles. The downside of this is your surge protectors will not provide surge protection.

Since you're renting, ony a liscenced electrician can perform the work.
 
  #6  
Old 09-30-11, 07:15 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,391
I am renting and have complained. Nothing done yet. Anything in the basement I can do?
If it's that important to you, you could offer to pay for part of the work or all of it if the landlord balks.
 
  #7  
Old 09-30-11, 09:26 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,053
Since the electric is what would be expected for a house that age and you have cited no major unsafe conditions if I was the landlord I would suggest you look for a house you were more comfortable in. Perhaps if you have a lease he will let you out of it with no penalty.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes