460v vs 480v

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-02-11, 03:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 2
460v vs 480v

i was advised that i need to change my 480v supply to 460v because my motors are rated at 460v,understanding that there is a + -10% .i need to know if this is somthing i should do??? and what would happen if i do this???
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-02-11, 03:59 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
Originally Posted by jeralle View Post
i was advised that i need to change my 480v supply to 460v because my motors are rated at 460v,understanding that there is a + -10% .i need to know if this is somthing i should do??? and what would happen if i do this???
Who told you that?

is somthing i should do???
IMO, no.

and what would happen if i do this???
Once you figure out how to do it, post back and let us know. The problem I think you'll find is the power company most likely furnishes you a 277/480 3 phase 4 wire service. To change it to 460, you'd need a transformer. I doubt you'll find one. 460 and 480 volt systems are basically the same thing.

By the way, working with 480 volts systems and circuits is NOT A DIY PROJECT!! If you need anything done to your system, hire a professional who has the proper safety equipment. Serious injuries and/or death can result from tinkering with 480 volts.
 
  #3  
Old 10-02-11, 04:05 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,979
480 volt is the same as 460. It is nominal voltage. Unless they are very sensitive to a specific voltage, and the manufacture requires the input voltage to be 460, they will be fine. As you mentioned +/- 10%.

To change it to 460, you'd need a transformer. I doubt you'll find one
A buck/boost transformer would do the job, but my opinion is the same as yours Joe, it is not necessary.

Informational note: Back in the day, voltage was listed as 110, 220, 460. Now it is listed as 120,208, 240 480.
 
  #4  
Old 10-02-11, 09:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Wis / Paris France{ In France for now }
Posts: 4,808
I will add the comment on 460 volts it is the same as modern 480 volts and many electrique motour manufacters do rated them in 460 volts due they allready comperised with voltage drop in there.

Now the other matter it will do come up with this where are you working on this one ? in the commercal place if so that have to be done by electrican to do this there is too many things can go wrong and there is not much leeway with 480 system.

I am used to 415 volts system in France and basically almost the same sistuation as 480 volts not much differnce there as well. again not much leeway with it if not pay attetion to it.

Merci,
Marc
 
  #5  
Old 10-05-11, 08:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 2
???

I work as an electrician helper, my job was to research what would be the outcome be if i were to run my motors at rated voltage.i'm currently going to school to become an electrcian, and my school book says the motor operates most efficiently at rated voltage.is this correct?
 
  #6  
Old 10-06-11, 05:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2,850
Isn't 415 volts (in countries not using 120 volts) from a 3 phase 240 volt phase to common system where only appliances rated for 415 volts or 240/415 volts (or 240 volts only) may be connected?
 
  #7  
Old 10-07-11, 05:30 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
Originally Posted by jeralle View Post
I work as an electrician helper, my job was to research what would be the outcome be if i were to run my motors at rated voltage.i'm currently going to school to become an electrcian, and my school book says the motor operates most efficiently at rated voltage.is this correct?
Tell us why you think this would be true or not. We will gladly help you learn, but I have done enough homework when I was in school.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'