Convert 3-wire circuit to 2-wire?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-02-11, 09:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Convert 3-wire circuit to 2-wire?

Hello,
I have a 220v oven outlet fed by 8/3 NMb. I wish to convert the outlet to a 15 amp single pole circuit. Is it permissible to 1) Replace the 40A dual breaker with a 15A single pole breaker; 2) connect only the black wire to the 15A breaker; 3) connect the other end of the black wire to the 15A outlet; 4) cap off both ends of the red wire in the 8/3, since it would no longer be used?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-02-11, 09:42 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,667
Yes, if you have a black, white ,and bare. You will have to wire nut smaller gauge pigtails for the breaker and the receptacle. Since you have #8 I would suggest a 20 amp breaker. The #8 may even fit a 20a breaker without a pigtail.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 10-03-11 at 05:31 AM.
  #3  
Old 10-03-11, 03:20 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
To add, on the receptacle end, you will most likely need to use a 4x4 box with a plaster ring reducing it to a single receptacle. The #8 wires (all 3) will need to be in that box, along with your pigtails, and it may get cramped in a 2x4 box.
 
  #4  
Old 10-03-11, 02:14 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
I would use a 2-pole breaker and use it as a multiwire circut. If the receptacle is on the counter it will need gfci protection.

A 20A breaker should be rated for up to #8.
 
  #5  
Old 10-03-11, 05:39 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
A 20A breaker should be rated for up to #8.
I think that would be up to the different manufacturers, but I do know a Square D QO or QOB series breaker, 10-30A will accept (1) 14-8 AWG Al/Cu OR (2) 14-10 AWG Cu. I wouldn't bet on all 20 amp breakers accepting conductors larger than #10 just like I wouldn't bet on all manufacturer's breakers accepting 2 conductors.
 
  #6  
Old 10-03-11, 07:19 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Originally Posted by CasualJoe View Post
I think that would be up to the different manufacturers, but I do know a Square D QO or QOB series breaker, 10-30A will accept (1) 14-8 AWG Al/Cu OR (2) 14-10 AWG Cu. I wouldn't bet on all 20 amp breakers accepting conductors larger than #10 just like I wouldn't bet on all manufacturer's breakers accepting 2 conductors.
Thats the model I had in my hand. Cutler-hammer's br takes up to 8 as well as GE.
 
  #7  
Old 10-04-11, 06:56 AM
belgarid's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 144
When looking at breakers they need to be the same manufacturer as the panel. You can't use another manufacturer’s breaker just because it has the features you are looking for.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'