Quick breaker box question

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-07-11, 04:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 80
Quick breaker box question

I recently ran wire for a subpanel but am just now getting to actually hooking it up in the main panel. I just realized that there is not a large enough screw to attach the neutral wire. Just wondering if someone could send me a link to what I would need to buy to make it fit, I'm assuming I would need some sort of lug. It is #6 wire, by the way. Thank you.

Ryan
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-07-11, 04:44 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
Most neutral bars should be able to fit a #4. If not there are lug adapters available. What brand panel do you have?
 
  #3  
Old 10-07-11, 05:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 80
It's an old Pushmatic breaker box, there are a couple spots that I believe could house a #6 but they are all full. Here's a picture of what I'm working with. Thanks.

 
  #4  
Old 10-07-11, 07:48 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
I would try to move the three whites from the terminal that appears to be yellow to other screws if open. If not i would drill a hole and add a lug and move some of the bare grounds to free up a terminal. Those screws may be able to accept one wire under each side of the screw head, but check the label to be sure. They would need to be the same gauge.
 
  #5  
Old 10-07-11, 09:42 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
To expand on PCboss's suggestion, I would install a full ground bar. Move all the grounds to that.
 
  #6  
Old 10-08-11, 05:15 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,397
Originally Posted by Tolyn Ironhand View Post
To expand on PCboss's suggestion, I would install a full ground bar. Move all the grounds to that.
I was thinking the same thing, but I don't see that many ground wires. Now that we have seen a close up of the neutral bar, I'd like to see a picture of the whole panel. I do see double and triple lugged wires and would like to see that problem resolved as well.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes