Fridge and dishwasher: 20A required?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-27-11, 08:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 158
Fridge and dishwasher: 20A required?

On both my DW and Fridge, the manuals say 15 or 20 amp circuit, dedicated.

DW is a Kitchen Aid, KUDE50XXX (newer model, but still heated dryer)
Fridge is a Kitchen Aid 42" built in, has a label that says 8.5A peak load.

The fridge I'm not as worried about since 8.5A is well below the 12A 80% limit on a 15A circuit.

Not sure about the DW. It doesn't say its current draw.

The reason I ask is that I just ran out of 12-2 and have 150' of 14-2 left.

Any requirements for 20A on either of these circuits? Or does the manual trump NEC? I'll do what's required, but I want to do my homework first.

Thanks,
Anthony
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-27-11, 08:28 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
The NEC states any instructions must be followed. If the instructions offer you the option of either the 15 or 20 you are fine with the 15 amp circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 10-27-11, 08:32 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,295
Originally Posted by arc2v View Post
The reason I ask is that I just ran out of 12-2 and have 150' of 14-2 left.
It would be okay to do dedicated 15A circuits to each appliance. Dishwashers are usually in the 10-12A range when they have a heat cycle. I have never seen a residential model that required greater than a 15A circuit.

Or does the manual trump NEC? I'll do what's required, but I want to do my homework first.
The manual generally trumps NEC.
 
  #4  
Old 10-27-11, 10:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 158
Thanks guys, I appreciate the help.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'