Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Tools (or techniques) for low voltage cable pulls through walls?

Tools (or techniques) for low voltage cable pulls through walls?

Old 11-06-11, 03:23 PM
Question Tools (or techniques) for low voltage cable pulls through walls?

* If there is a better place to post low voltage/data+video cable questions, please let me know.

Background: This is an older home and is basically unwired except for some real old RG59 (I think). Home is bolted slab foundation and structure somewhat sucks in that half the house (master bedroom, family room, kitchen) is flat roof [no attic] while the room we want main TV/couches in is actually the bigger living room and it has cathedral roof so also no attic.

Goal: CAT6/RG6 to each room with a few security camera wires run while I'm at it (we have a 5 month old).

I've never done this before but am comfortable with the small home repair projects I've done so far.

Questions:

1) What tools will I need to pull CAT6/RG6 cable through my walls?

- What tool is best suited to cut the drywall for the receptacles and holes I need to place the drill in to punch through studs?

- Is an angle drill the best for each stud I need to go through? For example in the vaulted ceiling area, I'll have no choice but to cut in front of each stuff to get through...? Even with the smaller head, I still need to get the drill bit inside so I'm guessing it's not the drill but rather just needing to drill at an angle for each stud?

- A 25 foot or so fish tape to pull the cable?

- stud finder (I already bought both a well-reviewed magnetic and seperate electrical one)

2) When I cut the drywall to make room for the drill at each spot, is there any special cutting technique to help the drywaller have an easier time to patch when I'm done?