Box Fill: Do The "Tongues" Count?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-08-11, 06:37 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Box Fill: Do The "Tongues" Count?

When figuring box fill for plastic boxes do the plastic "tongues" count as clamps?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-08-11, 07:19 AM
W
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ray - My guess is that they don't. My reasoning is that the tongues seem to clamp in only one direction and that some brands of plastic boxes have break out tabs instead of tongues.

Was the staple distance reduced for plastic boxes?
 
  #3  
Old 11-08-11, 08:06 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Wayne, you brought up my second question. Assuming the cable is stapled if they do count can you break them out to reduce the total box fill.

I was answering a post elsewhere about fill and wasn't sure how to answer when writing about plastic boxes.
 
  #4  
Old 11-08-11, 08:13 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,563
Received 94 Votes on 83 Posts
Ugh. I always assumed they did count as clamps. I never thought about the fact they only clamp in one direction.
 
  #5  
Old 11-08-11, 10:04 AM
W
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,188
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I hope they don't count. If they do I probably should go back and redo a box in my kitchen - not.

My thought was always that the clamps used on metal boxes were mostly to provide a protected entrance into the box and the staples secured the cables. Since plastic boxes don't require any special protection no clamps are required.

Then again the tongues do have volume and that's what box fill calcs are all about?
 
  #6  
Old 11-08-11, 10:17 AM
belgarid's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Another thought, the manufacturer may have already included the tongues in their volume calculations for what gets stamped into the box.
 
  #7  
Old 11-08-11, 11:41 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
On plastic boxes, the manufacturer has already done the calculation and stamped both the cubic inches on the box and the number of wires allowed.
 
  #8  
Old 11-08-11, 02:11 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,127
Received 72 Votes on 62 Posts
The toungues on plastic multi-gang boxes are clamps. On plastic single gang boxes they are knockout tabs.

Box with no clamp stapled within 8", with a clamp within 12".
 
  #9  
Old 11-09-11, 05:18 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,683
Received 16 Votes on 15 Posts
Plastic Box Clamps

Carlon addresses this on pages 3 and 4 of the document below. Be aware that this was written in November 2002.

http://www.carlon.com/FAQs/FAQ-ZipBoxes.pdf
 
  #10  
Old 11-10-11, 06:52 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes the internal clamps count towards box fill. Not only does the Carlon site above state so, but UL and the NFPA CMP have stated it also.

Now, does anyone actually count them, nope.
 
  #11  
Old 11-10-11, 08:10 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Wingz, welcome to the forums. Roll up your sleeves and jump in.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 11-10-11 at 11:20 AM.
  #12  
Old 11-10-11, 08:46 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
You would have to encounter one stickler of an inspector to ding you on something like that (or to even notice).
 
  #13  
Old 11-10-11, 08:56 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,127
Received 72 Votes on 62 Posts
Makes you wonder since the clamps are part of a listed assembly. How would UL test for proper cable retention if the clamps were removed or is it two tests?

Sure would be simpler if the volume already had an allowance for the clamp. The clamp volume is the same yet the allowance changes based on conductor size.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: