Starting power vs. Running power

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-08-11, 10:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 26
Starting power vs. Running power

If the starting power for household circuits exceeds the output power from a home generator, but the running power is within limits, wouldnt you be able to energize one circuit at a time not to exceed the staring power?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-08-11, 10:09 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,502
Sometimes. There is a lot of variability when starting motor loads with a small generator. If you know you have a decent sized motor to start like a well-pump you should size the generator so that the start up current is safely within the generator's capability.
 
  #3  
Old 11-09-11, 06:34 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,251
In theory, yes. BUT... most residential loads turn themselves on and off such as the fridge, well pump, HVAC blower, etc. So you can't really control when they start and stop. What happens if the fridge and well pump both decide to turn on at the same time?
 
  #4  
Old 11-09-11, 07:01 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Generators have two ratings; running watts and surge watts. The surge rating helps when motor loads are starting by allowing for the in-rush.
 
  #5  
Old 11-10-11, 12:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 26
How hard would it be to parellel an additional generator for extra output?
 
  #6  
Old 11-10-11, 12:40 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,502
It's not possible with consumer-grade generators, except a particular line of Hondas which are designed to work with a parallel kit sold by the manufacturer.
 
  #7  
Old 11-10-11, 01:30 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
A common houshold gen has two windings if 120/240. I

If you have say a 5000 watt gen what you really have is two 2500 watt 120 lines. This is what people dont understand when they buy a gen. They think 5000 watts, yeah!! I can power something thats 5000 watts... This is not true.

A 220v appliance will pull from both windings.

The only way to get the full wattage with these types of gens on 120v is to rewire the windings in parallel. You will not have 220v but will have the full capacity of the gen pulling from both windings with 120v instead of just individual windings.

If the neutral is center tapped its difficult. If you have 4 wires it makes it much easier.

Then thewhole phase thing comes into play. Most are wired phase opposite and you would have to wire them phase alike when rewiring. Its easy if you understand it.

But it all depends on the gen. And you really dont know what your buying unless you see a schematic for the gen or actually thake the head apart to see how its wired.

Thats why the gens from china are cheap. Most are center tapped.



Follow your local codes if you chose to go this route.

Mike NJ
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes