100 amp service to new garage

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-13-11, 03:14 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
100 amp service to new garage

Hi I am building new garage and need 100 amp service. I have 200 amp service to my house and from my breaker box to where the new one will go is about 190 feet what size wire and what about voltage drop. I doubt I will ever use 100 amp but it depends on what kind of heat I put in the garage. Thanks so much for any help

David Keith
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-13-11, 07:21 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
#3 copper or #1 aluminum if using conduit and THWN.

# 2 copper or #1/0 aluminum if using USE direct burial.

You will need 4 wires.

2 ground rods with #8 or #6 copper ( I prefer #6 so you do not have to protect it).

Separate the grounds and neutrals.

Panel or disconnect needs to be service rated.
 
  #3  
Old 11-13-11, 10:24 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,312
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
FYI - Here is a voltage drop calculator...
electrician2.com voltage drop calculator
 
  #4  
Old 11-13-11, 02:55 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK thank you very much so I need 2 seperate grounds?
 
  #5  
Old 11-13-11, 04:16 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,638
Received 84 Votes on 74 Posts
Originally Posted by DaveK3131 View Post
OK thank you very much so I need 2 seperate grounds?
I believe code requires the resistance to the earth ground, through the ground rod, to be 25 ohms or less. In lieu of proving this to the inspector, the code allows you to install two ground rods 6 feet apart.
 
  #6  
Old 11-13-11, 04:39 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,312
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also that is considered a "subpanel".

Grounds are on a separate bar (optional purchase and you should be able to get one with the screws for your specific panel - holes predrilled in panel.).

Then remove the "neutral bonding screw" in the new subpanel.
 
  #7  
Old 11-14-11, 12:44 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK thanks so much for the information
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: