So wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-16-11, 03:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: NE Conus
Posts: 498
So wire

Have a small question on SO rated 10 gauge wire.
I have, as previously posted here, a 8000w surge 10500, B&S model 30471 generator. I have this all hooked up to a transfer panel that I would feed by the SO wire. This worked great for the time I was without power when Irene came through town and the recent N.E. Ice storm.
Now I am sorry I didn't do the external connection! Recently, I re-damaged my rotator cuffs, which had ALL been resown and now it is really hard, and painful, to hook up the way that I had been doing it. Manually lifting open the garage door, drag 100 feet of SO out and connect to the generator.
Is it possible, and safe, to install a outdoor connector box and split the 100 foot cord using one part of the SO as a connection to that external box and the other half in the house as a connection from the external to the transfer switch? If so does code require conduit in the house or would attaching to the structure be okay. (1 inch wire clips/staples) Would it be okay to mix that, say using conduit (3/4in) through a crawl space then attach the SO to structure or does it all have to be conduit, if used?
I feel it would be the same as the original way with just the connector getting in the mix. I realize there might be another small drop due to the sockets but this is a 30 amp gen and my draw is at MAX 20.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-16-11, 05:28 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
The SO cord cannot be used in place of permanent wiring so it cannot be installed in conduit.

You could wire the inlet in at the remote location using conduit back to the house.
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-11, 06:04 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,059
If you mount the inlet directly on the side of the house, you can use 10/3 NM-B (Romex) back to your transfer switch. No need for conduit unless it's subject to damage.

Most transfer switches have a provision to eliminate the internal inlet and allow you to connect easily to a remote inlet.
 
  #4  
Old 11-16-11, 06:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: NE Conus
Posts: 498
Thanks guys

That is what I couldn't remember., if SO could be used in the house.

PCBoss, thought of that, but it really is infeasible to put the inlet near the generator as it is spoted removed from the house, because of house configuration, and a driveway in-between.

Z; that was my fallback, to use 10/3 Romex inside the house. That leaves me with about 60 feet of spare SO!! Guess I might make some spare Gen. cords for work I CAN do around here.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'