How to Add Light Fixture to Wall Cabinet Exterior

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-16-11, 08:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 144
How to Add Light Fixture to Wall Cabinet Exterior

I have a small bath that I'm remodeling and trying to come up with a creative way to use a particular light fixture. My initial plan was to mount them in the normal way above the vanity on the wall behind the vanity. But one fixture would be especially close to the corner wall. So, my brainstorm is to mount that side ON the side wall and then to build a custom, very narrow cabinet unit that would hang on the other side of the vanity from the wall behind the vanity. It would be a very unique design and functional to attach the light fixture for this side to the side of this cabinet. Question is how to do that in code-compliant way?

Currently, there are code-legal, inspected and passed boxes (for fixtures) in the wall behind the vanity. If I essentially hung the cabinet over the top of one of them I would guess I can't just snake the wire out of the wall into the cabinet to hook up the light fixture. But I've seen something similar in a high-end hotel with the bed unit. So how do they do it? Basically, the bed unit had two wall-hung bedside table units, each with a sconce light attached directly to the wood. In their case I think I remember looking and seeing that they were simply plugged into an outlet.

But is there a legal way to actually mount a fixture-type box inside the cabinet itself? I want to do this in a code-legal way.

Thanks for any insight.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-16-11, 09:40 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,662
A box does not have to be burred in a wall to be legal however if the cables are not protected you may need to use AC rather then NM-b.
 
  #3  
Old 11-17-11, 07:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 144
So I could just come out of the in-wall box with a short length of AC cable into the cabinet mounted box and be legal, correct?

I didn't stop to think about this simple solution mainly because, while I'm familiar with AC, I've not used it, so it simply wasn't on my radar.

Very simple solution, though. Thanks for pointing out the obvious.
 
  #4  
Old 11-17-11, 09:37 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,662
Yes, you can use Armored Cable (AC).
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'