URD in conduit

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-17-11, 10:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
URD in conduit

Planning on running AL 2-2-2-4 for a feed to an outbuilding from my house. Does the exposed cable inside my basement......ie from the panel to the exterior wall, need to be in conduit. I plan to run PVC once outside. Thx
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-17-11, 10:58 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
URD (underground residential distribution) cable cannot be installed indoors at all. It does not have a fire retardant coating. You'll have to put a junction box on the exterior wall of the house and use SER cable or conduit with THHN or XHHW conductors pulled.
 
  #3  
Old 11-17-11, 05:53 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,239
Received 40 Votes on 32 Posts
I plan to run PVC once outside.
You can do that, but there is really no need for the extra expense of URD if it will be in conduit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: