URD in conduit


  #1  
Old 11-17-11, 09:50 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
URD in conduit

Planning on running AL 2-2-2-4 for a feed to an outbuilding from my house. Does the exposed cable inside my basement......ie from the panel to the exterior wall, need to be in conduit. I plan to run PVC once outside. Thx
 
  #2  
Old 11-17-11, 09:58 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,942
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
URD (underground residential distribution) cable cannot be installed indoors at all. It does not have a fire retardant coating. You'll have to put a junction box on the exterior wall of the house and use SER cable or conduit with THHN or XHHW conductors pulled.
 
  #3  
Old 11-17-11, 04:53 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,823
Received 111 Votes on 98 Posts
I plan to run PVC once outside.
You can do that, but there is really no need for the extra expense of URD if it will be in conduit.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: