Blown Circuit? Helping a friend and blew it . . .

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-17-11, 07:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Blown Circuit? Helping a friend and blew it . . .

Hi,

I was installing under-cabinet lighting at a friend's house and tapped it directly into a kitchen plug. Everthing worked fine but then I accidentally shorted the wire by cutting it while it was plugged in. The plug that arc'd still worked so I thought all was well. I later discovered that an adjacent room's lights and plugs no longer work.

The breakers are all fine, even found the breaker for that room and plugged the wire in the breaker box into another breaker - still wouldn't provide power.

So how do I find what I blew? Or what are the possible problems I can check. When I cut the wire, it popped and blackened the cord but the immediate plug still worked.

thanks, it's a bit embarrassing to not be able to find it.

Oh - and it's not a GFI switch - that was fine.
 

Last edited by dkchatt; 11-17-11 at 07:22 PM. Reason: added info
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-17-11, 08:35 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,028
Received 69 Votes on 61 Posts
Start at the breaker and make sure the breaker is good using an electrical meter.

Then your only option is to start opening boxes to try to find a splice that has come apart. I would start with the box where you plugged in the UC lughts. Be careful!! because you might have an open neutral and could still get a shock from a hot wire. Again, with a meter you can check for that by going from hot to ground.
 
  #3  
Old 11-18-11, 05:44 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,984
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
Also the lighting should not be on the kitchen small appliance circuits.
 
  #4  
Old 11-18-11, 10:20 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,944
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Originally Posted by dkchatt View Post
When I cut the wire, it popped and blackened the cord but the immediate plug still worked.
If these lights are factory produced with a cord and plug they cannot be hard wired. This project sounds bad from every angle.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: