Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Low voltage wire install - Glue lams and backing/bracing wall? Oy

Old 11-26-11, 01:21 PM

Ok,

I'm a relative noob to home DIY but am mechanically apt and do a fair amount of research before a project though I'm a bit unsure of something so asking for advice.

I need to run some low voltage (cat6/rg6) to the other side of the living room. It's a vaulted ceiling room with no basement or attic access, and all walls are exterior.

My plan is to run it from where the attic stops (where the blue tape is in the picture below) and through the ceiling right to the opposite wall, then down it. This way I have only one corner bend, less walls to traverse, etc. etc.

My concern is that I read about not ever being able to drill into a glue lam and the pain in the but that exterior walls have with wood backing, etc.

I know from just knocking on the far wall that it has something behind the drywall as it all sounds rather solid.

I have no clue what is on the ceiling. I'm hoping just joints, but have no clue. I plan on cutting a 4" trough or so of the drywall all the way across and then drilling each joint to pull through.

I don't yet know how to get around the corner from the ceiling and into the wall. I'm worried about the bend radius of the wire, how close I'll need to remove drywall near the corner, etc. Ugh.

So based on what little you can tell from the picture below, here are my questions:

1) Is there any reason I should expect a glue lam in this ceiling? Is it very likely given no attic? very unlikely? If I do, I assume I'm screwed?

2) Any particular way to cut/deal with wood/backing on an exterior wall when trying to pull wire?

3) Finally, is there a link, video, or advice on how to deal with corners when needing to pull low voltage wire? I can't find any.