Proper gauge for long range well pump?

Old 11-26-11, 12:42 PM
Proper gauge for long range well pump?

I live out in the country and had on old water well cleaned out to serve as an auxiliary well. The well is 700 feet from my meter pole and I ran three pieces of 2/10 w Ground Romax (I had this laying around) as a temporary service until I could afford to buy the right stuff. The well is 100 feet deep and I am running a 1/2HP submersible pump. As long as I did not put a pressure tank system on it and just ran it wide open, it worked fine. But when I put the pressure tank system on it, it immediately burnt the first pump out. It was an old pump I already had, so I did didn't think anything off it. I replaced it with a another brand new one and it lasted about 3 months. I replaced it and the last one lasted about 6 months.

So I am thinking that my problem is the wire. I am not an electrician, but maybe 10 gauge copper is just not big enough for a 700 foot run to service a submersible pump. Now I want to replace it with a permanent service, but I am not sure what to use.

If 10 gauge copper is to small then I need to go to 8 gauge. But 700 feet of 8 gauge copper wire is a lot of money. So I am thinking 8 gauge aluminum. What do you think? Any advice will be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-26-11, 12:54 PM
Gauge

8 gauge aluminum is no better than 10 gauge copper. Check the current carrying capacity and voltage drop.

Old 11-26-11, 01:21 PM
Group Moderator
Is it 240v? At that distance you perhaps should be considering set of transformers to run 480v out then drop to your pump voltage. If you can find surplus transformers on Ebay the money saved on smaller wire may make transformers a cheaper alternative.

Old 11-27-11, 07:11 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
I agree with Ray that you might want to price out some small 2:1 dry transformers to boost to 480V for the distance, but if not here's what I recommend.