Multiple Grounding Rods

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-26-11, 09:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Multiple Grounding Rods

I have a hillside property with an ungrounded switched light in the yard. I have tapped the light and installed a box with a GFCI outlet so that I can control other things with the switch. Problem now is that this is an ungrounded outlet.

Should / can I pound in a grounding rod near the outlet and ground it or will this pose a dangerous situation?

Any suggestions? Thanks, Eric
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-26-11, 09:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,631
Should / can I pound in a grounding rod near the outlet and ground it or will this pose a dangerous situation?
No. By US code you must run the wire back to to the breaker panel ground. The GFCI is the best you can do with out running a wire to the panel. It would probably be as easy to just run a new cable unless this is conduit.
 
  #3  
Old 11-27-11, 02:11 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,350
Ground rods play no part in the operation of a receptacle.
 
  #4  
Old 11-27-11, 07:04 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,056
If you use one of those stickers, "Ungrounded" that came with the GFI, you're by code good to go. Since you'll likely just be plugging lights or other things out there that don't really need a ground, you should be good to go.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'